Connor | September 2021

CONNOR’S PROFILE
Age: Fourteen | Ethnicity/Race: Canadian/White

Always up for an adventure, I am quite enthusiastic towards school, outdoor activities and therapeutic camp. You’ll be able to tell that I am excited to participate in these activities when you see my behaviour and facial expressions. I also love trips to the grocery store or Canadian Tire if it means that I get to help out my foster parents since I get to be responsible for the shopping cart!

The library, with its multitude of colourful books and displays, is a favourite destination for me. I have made good progress in reading early reader books and my spontaneous language skills particularly related to conversations when I am given the time to share my thoughts. I use a communication board to assist me when I identify my needs and feelings at times since sometimes I can’t find the words to express those types of things.

CONNOR BELIEVES…

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste it, to experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.”

– Eleanor Roosevelt

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Personality Academics
I might be a bit quiet but I definitely will surprise you with knowing a lot more than you may think, as long as I am given the opportunity. I’ve been told that I am affectionate and easy-going. I am engaging and interested in new people, but I truly thrive with individual attention especially from familiar adults and family members. Among my favourite things, school is at the top of the list. I attend a small classroom at my local high school. I have been making educational gains and have shown an ability to thrive in a structured educational environment. I have some catching up to do but I do experience successes in my modified academic program with individual support.
Openness Special Considerations
Like many, I benefit from maintaining meaningful connections with a few people in my life who include my mother, grandmother, brothers and foster parents. I enjoy visits with my mother and grandmother and in the future, a connection will need to be fostered with my brothers. Also, keeping in touch with my foster parents is important too. While I am independent in most self-help or care related tasks, I could use some reminders and prompts to attend to my needs and some support in completing them. Currently, I am involved in specialized community resources to assist me in reaching my full potential. These services help with my physical, self-help and life skills development.
Matching Considerations Questions?
A single or two-parent family who has a strong support network would be great for me. In addition, my adoptive family should have access to therapeutic services, possess strong advocacy skills and have an understanding of navigating social services in order to support me and help me build my skills throughout my life. Please see Connor’s profile on the AdoptOntario Waiting Children list with the case ID 17031.

If you have questions about Connor, please contact a Clinical Coordinator for the AdoptOntario program at:

1-877-ADOPT 20 ext. 2777 or [email]


What did you think of this profile? Give us your feedback, complete this short survey.

Contact Us