Jim | January 2022

Hi! My name is Jim and I am 9 years old. I love being outdoors – I LOVE the trampoline and my most favourite thing is water! I enjoy swimming with a life jacket on and splashing around.

Age: Nine | Ethnicity/Race: Canadian/White

Hi! My name is Jim and I am 9 years old. I love being outdoors – I LOVE the trampoline and my most favourite thing is water! I enjoy swimming with a life jacket on and splashing around. I have a gym mat in my bedroom with some sensory toys that I will sometimes play with. I like to get up very early in the morning. I am happy to lay in my bed with a bucket, string, a book and my favourite teddy bear until breakfast time. My favourite thing to wear is track pants but I’m pretty easygoing with clothes. I love to spend time with my foster family! They are so great and accept me for who I am. My foster mom and dad say my biggest strength is my constant happy demeanour. I will also let you know if I am unhappy! I like to be given space when I’m upset, and this helps me to feel calm. I love hugs and tickles. I need time to get comfortable but if you give me a chance and get to know me, I know we will laugh together!


“Every child is a different kind of flower and all together they make this world a beautiful garden.”


Personality Academics
One of my special support persons shared that I am a loveable little boy that is always ready for a tight hug from a familiar face. My contagious laughter can send an entire room into a smile! I am full of determination to complete any task given, something any parent would be proud of. I love the outdoors and spending time with my nose in a book full of colour.  I attend a Learning Life Skills classroom and I have 1:1 support in school. I love to sit on the bean bag chair when I need to take a break. Recently in a smaller group, I was able to pay attention to a story, participate in a science demonstration and listen to what was being taught. My teacher thought this was incredible! I understand just about anything that people say to me, but I need patience because my brain processes differently so it may take me a little bit of time before I do what is asked. We have been working with Picture Exchange Communication System to communicate and I am now able to make a sentence strip and show it to my foster mom, so she knows what I want. 
Openness Special Considerations
While I don’t have any ongoing contact with my birth family, my caregivers write a yearly letter to my birth dad and send him a picture of me. Other people in my life who are important to me are my foster parents and my worker and it would be great to keep them updated on all the wonderful things I am going to achieve in my life.  My foster mom says I am a very healthy boy. I am a little small for my age, but my doctor has no concerns about my growth. Because I wake up so early, not having enough sleep is hard for me. I get tired earlier on in the day. But I know everyone struggles with sleep sometimes. I like to spend time with my 1:1 worker a few hours a week to work on socialization skills. This gives my foster parents a nice break and it’s fun for me to do activities with an adult I like and trust.   
Matching Considerations Questions?
I would do best in a home with a caregiver who is patient, has lots of energy, and is consistent, fair, and firm. Because I love my foster dad so much, I would really enjoy having a strong male role model in my life, that could be an extended family member or a close friend. I would love to have other siblings in my forever home so I can have someone to interact with and play with, but I would do best as the youngest child. I need a parent who will have a strong voice and who is not afraid to advocate for my needs.  Please see Jim’s profile on the AdoptOntario Waiting Children list with the case ID 17178.

If you have questions about Jim, please contact Vivian McCauley, Clinical Coordinator for the AdoptOntario program at:

1-877-ADOPT 20 ext. 2666 or [email]

What did you think of this profile? Give us your feedback, complete this short survey.

Contact Us